Robotics Season 2020 Success

Robotics Season 2020 Success
Posted on 02/13/2020
FTC robotics teams 5899 (LASER) and 15403 (Lunar Landers) wrapped up their competitive seasons with participation in the Colorado State Championship on Feb. 8 at Mountain Range High School in Westminster. The robots had good moments and bad moments in many bruising head-to-head battles, but both teams demonstrated fortitude, perseverance, and team enthusiasm throughout the highs and lows.

LASER won the 1st-place Motivate Award and Lunar Landers placed 3rd for the Motivate Award. The Motivate Award is given to a team that “embraces the culture of FIRST, clearly shows what it means to be a team, makes a collective effort to make FIRST known throughout their school and community, and sparks others to embrace the culture of FIRST.” Gillian Hepworth (from LASER) also received individual recognition as a winner of the Dean’s List Finalist award.

LASER team members pictured: Sunny Taylor, Liam O’Malley, Ian Smith, Yasin Khadbai, Nathan Fraser, Amber Kranz, Heather Hepworth, Aldous Jeon, and Gillian Hepworth.  

 Team Lunar Landers
Lunar Landers team members pictured: Gideon Baugh, Drake Baldwin, Caden Young, Alex Heckman, Abi Tate, Bennet Klaver, Jasper Cox, Tony Ortiz, Justin Ackerman.